Tuesday, December 18, 2018

Different Types of Burn | Burns Classification

What is Burn?
A burn is an injury to the skein or other organic tissue primarily caused by heat or due to radiation, radioactivity, electricity, friction or contact with chemicals. Skin injuries caused due to the radioactivity, ultraviolet radiation, electricity or chemicals as well as respiratory damage resulting from smoke inhalation are also known as burns. 
Burn types
Fig:  Burn types

Damage to the skin or other body parts is caused by extreme heat, flame, and contact with heated objects or chemicals. Burn depth is general y categorized as first, second or third degree. The burn may be painful and may cause red or peeling skin, blisters, swelling, and white or charred skin.

Classification of Burns Injury:
Burn is classified according to the different categories which are presented in the below:

According to Cause:
It includes-

1. Thermal Burn:
It is caused by conduction or convection. Example: hot liquid, fire or steam etc. 

2. Electrical Burn:
It is caused by the passage of electrical current through the body. There is generally an exit and entrance wound. 

3. Chemically Burn:
It occurs when certain chemical compounds come in contact with the body. Example: Sulphuric acid, lye, hydrochloric acid, gasoline etc.

According to Zone or Extent:
It includes-

1. Zone of Coagulation:
Branch of greatest destruction, tissue necrosis, immutable cell damage. 

2. Zone of Stasis:
Harmed tissue, the area of less severe injury which possesses reversible damage and surrounds the zone of coagulation. 

3. Zone of Hyperemia:
Pink, no cell depth, the area surrounding the zone of stasis that presents with inflammation but willfully any interventions or permanent damage.

According to the Depth of Tissue Damage:

a. Traditional:
It includes-

1. First Degree:
It includes only the outer layer of skin, the epidermis. Skin is usually red and very painful.

2. Second degree:
This type of burns involves the epidermis and part of the dermis layer of the skin. Second-degree burn site appears blistered, red and may be swollen and painful.

3. Third Degree:
All layers of the skin are destroyed. It extends into the subcutaneous tissues.

4. Fourth Degree:
It is the same as a third-degree but with damage to deeper structures such as tendons, joints, and bone.

b. Modern Terminology:
It includes-

1. Superficial:
It involves only the outer epidermis, heals without scarring.

2. Superficial Partial-Thickness:
It involves epidermis & the supper portion of the dermis, pain & blisters, heals with min to no scarring.

3. Deep- Partial-Thickness:
It completes destruction of the epidermis & the majority of the dermis, blisters, edema; it may heal with hypertrophic scars & keloids.

4. Full-Thickness:
It completes destruction of the epidermis & dermis along with partial damage of the subcutaneous fat layer. It requires grafts & susceptible to infection.

5. Sub-dermal:
It completes destruction of the epidermis, dermis & subcutaneous tissue, may involve muscle & bone. It often requires surgical intervention.

More questions related to this article:
  1. What is meant by burns?
  2. Define burns.
  3. What are the classifications of burns?
  4. What are the types of burns?
  5. Explain different types of burns.
  6. Discuss about different types of burns.
  7. Describe the classification of burns.